What is the ELCA?

The ELCA resulted from a union of three North American Lutheran church bodies:

  • The American Lutheran Church (ALC)

  • The Association of Evangelical Lutheran Churches (AELC)

  • The Lutheran Church in America (LCA)

The three churches agreed to unite in 1982. The plan was approved by church conventions in 1986 and the ELCA constituting convention was held April 30 - May 3, 1987, with the church actually beginning operations in January 1, 1988.

ELCA members are part of a strong global network of people living out their faith and making the world a better place.

Learn more here!

The Missions of the ELCA

Through the ELCA Global Mission unit, the ELCA supports missionaries and companion church ministries in over 90 countries.

Programs that address the root causes of hunger and poverty are funded through the ELCA World Hunger Appeal.

Through participation in the Lutheran World Federation, Lutheran World Relief, Lutheran Immigration and Refugee Service, and other Lutheran partner organizations, the ELCA joins Lutherans around the world in seeking solutions for the healing of the world.

When disaster strikes, ELCA International Disaster Response brings God’s comfort, healing and renewal. When the dust settles and the media go home, we stay – to provide ongoing assistance for the sick, unemployed, homeless and grieving.